News Single

Reservoir, Laurimar locked in for 2017

The Northern Football League has confirmed both Reservoir and Laurimar will compete in Division 3 in 2017.

The addition of the two clubs means that nine teams will compete in Division 3 next season.

The Division 3 competition will be played over 18 rounds, with each team to play 16 matches and have two byes.

Reservoir returns to the playing field after going into recess in 2016, just months after taking out last year’s Division 3 premiership.

The NFL gave the green light for Reservoir to return to the senior competition after the club met all obligations ahead of its November deadline.

Reservoir already has more than 40 senior players committed for the 2017 season, with a number of transfers also pending.

NFL chief executive Peter McDougall commended the work of Reservoir’s committee to get its club back on the field next season.

“The league is pleased to see the Reservoir Football Club return to our senior competition in 2017,” McDougall said.

“We acknowledge the hard work of the new committee, led by Steve Bower, whose efforts throughout the past eight months have ensured the club can return to the field next year.”

After joining the NFL’s junior competition in 2011, Laurimar will enter a senior team for the first time next year.

The Power had 15 teams compete in the junior competition this year and are now ready to make the leap into senior football.

“The league is very excited to see Laurimar enter into senior football for the first time after six years in the juniors,” McDougall said.

“We look forward to seeing them starting their new chapter in senior football in the Northern Football League.”

The addition of Reservoir and Laurimar increases the league’s number of senior men’s clubs to 27.

Division 1 will remain a 10-team competition, while eight teams will compete in Division 2 with the addition of this year’s Division 3 premier Watsonia.

2017 marks the third consecutive year that the NFL will welcome a new senior club, following the addition of Kilmore in 2016 and Banyule in 2015.